Though retail sales of marijuana aren’t likely to begin until sometime next year, new personal possession and cultivation provisions go into effect in just four months.
Starting July 1, anyone 21 and older may possess up to eight ounces of marijuana at home and one ounce in public. A household may grow up to four marijuana plants.
The law allow people to possess up to 1 pound of solid edible products, 72 ounces of liquid pot products and an ounce of marijuana concentrates, such as hash oil.
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission has asked the Oregon Legislature for $ 350,000 for a public education campaign targeting the new limits. Rob Patridge, chairman of the commission, the agency charged with overseeing the regulated marijuana industry, said many Oregonians don’t know what’s allowed under the new law.
“We don’t want people to do illegal things,” he said.
Colorado has spent $ 5.7 million on its , an effort that gives the public a quick — and upbeat — rundown of the basics when it comes to the state’s marijuana law. The message: Don’t consume in public, don’t drive while high, keep marijuana locked up and away from kids and don’t leave the state with marijuana.
“Now that marijuana’s legal here, we’ve all got a few things to know,” says a friendly voice. “But instead of telling you what you can’t do, we’re going to tell you what you can do to.”
In Colorado, state officials have done several campaigns around marijuana consumption. The state’s transportation agency came up with a “Drive High, Get a DUI” campaign targeting young male drivers. The effort features TV adds and, according to